This program is a partnership with the Wyandotte County District Attorney’s office, licensed social workers and truancy monitors. This partnership is designed to combat the barriers that lead to poor attendance.
The TDP serves students Pre-K through grade 12 and is based on the Kansas Compulsory Law. Kansas Compulsory Law requires every child who is enrolled in school and/or has reached the age of seven years and is under the age of 18 attended school, unless excused in accordance with provisions of Kansas Law (K.S.A. 72-1113).
Truancy Criteria – Kansas Compulsory Law
He/she is required by law to attend school and is not enrolled.
He/she is truant from school if he/she is absent without a valid excuse for:
- 3 consecutive days
- 5 days in a school semester
- 7 days in a school year
- 7 tardies = 1 unexcused absence